Confirmed: England’s quarantine to be dropped for Spain, Italy, France and Germany


Most travellers to the UK currently have to self-isolate for two weeks.

People arriving in England from more than 50 countries including France, Spain, Germany and Italy will no longer need to quarantine from 10 July, the Department for Transport has confirmed.

The new exemptions mean people arriving from selected countries will be able to enter England without needing to self-isolate, unless they have been in or transited through non-exempt countries in the preceding 14 days.

A full list of exempt countries posing “a reduced risk” from coronavirus will be published later.

There will also be a red list of countries, including the US, for which restrictions will remain in place.